Teeth are probably one of the most important body parts. You need a good set of teeth to ensure that you are able to chew food properly. There are actually five major types of teeth.

It is important that you understand what those are and how they function.

In doing so will allow you to create a better understanding on how they work.

Through your life and at its different stages, you will be developing two major sets of teeth.

This includes the primary teeth.  We also call them as baby teeth.

And you will be having the set of your permanent teeth.

Also within these, you will be having 5 different types of teeth which will be taking place through that time.

So it is important for you to realize and see how each of these sets are actually coming in different shape and also they all have different functions in life.

In this article I am going to be talking about and sharing in detail what these sets of teeth are and how they will be erupting in the mouth. Also how do they differently function.

Let’s begin:

Types of Teeth in Lifetime

teeth in your lifetime

The first and foremost thing to remember is that throughout your life, your teeth do not stay the same.

In fact as you progress through the years, the way your teeth look continues to evolve and change.

Did you know that your primary teeth fall into the number of 20?

Also your permanent teeth will be setting inside your mouth. And that too at different stages of development.

So here we will be talking about all the five different kinds – how do they differ and what kind of shape and function will they be coming in.

Incisors Impact

You have probably heard of this one already. Incisors are actually the first set of eight teeth.

They come right in front of your mouth and very visible.

Also there are four of these on the top and then four on the bottom.

Dentists also refer to them as your ‘front teeth’ because they are right there.

These are the first teeth which will be erupting when you are only six months of age.

Also it is easy for them to replaced when you are reaching about six or eight years of  age. However it is usually different for different people.

The permanent set of incisors are similar to these but are actually stronger .

Incisors are usually the least impacted with decay and gum diseases. This is because there is less chewing and grinding of food involved with it.


canine and other kinds

Now lets look into the other kind of teeth. These are what we call the canine teeth. They are actually  moving in the outward region of the mouth.

And these are usually coming right on the sides of your incisors.

They are actually considered as the sharpest teeth in the mouth.

And they are actually playing an important role in your mouth. It is likely that they will be appearing at the age of 16 to 20 months.

Also your primary canines which are on the upper teeth section appear faster than those falling in the lower teeth area.

With time, these will be easily replaced by the permanent canines.

These teeth are coming and appearing between the ages of 9-12 years.

Again, it can be different for different people.

For some, they will be appearing sooner. While for others, it can take some time for them to show.

Again it is all about making a good understanding on how do these teeth set in your mouth.


Do you know what premolars are?

These are those teeth which are continuing outward also.

They also hold an important function in the body.

This includes chewing and grinding your food properly.

When talking about premolars, there are actually four of them.

Again, two will be falling on the upper jaw and two come in the lower jaw.

These teeth are those which fall and come within the age of 10 years. And the permanent premolars will be coming when you are in the age of 11 years.

They are extremely important and serve you in endless ways.


molars and other types

Now lets look into and talk about what molars are.

These are also known as deciduous teeth. And again are an important part of the body. They too serve the purpose of chewing and grinding your food.

When talking about permanent premolars, know that four of them exist in the upper jaw and four are falling in the lower jaw.

The permanent molars will be coming behind the primary teeth and they are the hardest in the types of teeth.

They will be appearing at the age of 9-12 years and are of importance.

The lower canines are also appearing at the same time as upper canines and the permanent set usually takes in at the age of 11 to 12 years.

Now let’s move onto and discuss what are third molars.

Third Molars

The last teeth that will be developing in the mouth are known as third molars.

These are also considered as the first set of permanent teeth.

Another important name for them is what we call wisdom teeth. They will be erupting when you are falling into the age group of 18 to 20 years.

However there are situations where some people will not have those kind of teeth developing in their mouths at all.

These teeth are not really considered as being the kind that are favored.

This is because they cause what we call as overcrowding. When this happens, it will be impacting your other teeth as well.

Sometimes it can even lead to the misshaping of your remaining teeth.  When such a thing happens, it will be leading to complications for your existing set of teeth also.

Managing Types of Teeth in Your Lifetime

managing types of teeth

So there you have it. We have looked into all the leading and kinds of teeth set you may be having. Over your lifetime these kind of teeth are actually going to be serving different purposes.

Over your lifetime, you will have five different types of teeth that will erupt in your mouth; incisors, canines, premolars, molars, and third molars. Four of the five types will come in as primary teeth and then as permanent teeth which will replace the primary teeth. The only teeth that come in only once are the third molars, or wisdom teeth, which typically come in around the age of 18 to 20 years and are usually removed as they tend to cause overcrowding in the mouth. These five types of teeth all serve a specific purpose when it comes to breaking down food to make it more digestible. Serving such an important purpose, beyond just your smile, you want to make sure that your teeth are properly taken care of. Come see Dr. Acosta at Hancock Village Dental to ensure the health of your teeth